البطارية الأسطوانية أم البطارية المنشورية، أيهما أفضل للسيارات الكهربائية؟

إذا كنت تقود سيارة تعمل بالبنزين أو الديزل، فستكون على دراية بالبطارية الصندوقية الموضوعة بشكل مريح في الزاوية، أسفل غطاء المحرك. عجينة حمض الرصاص الثقيلة والضخمةالمنشأ لا تناسب السيارات الكهربائية التي تستوعب آلاف البطاريات خفيفة الوزن. لتحقيق التراص المدمج، تعد البطاريات الرفيعة على شكل لوح خيارًا أفضل. تأتي هذه في نوعين، وهما أنواع الحقيبة والمنشورية، والفرق هو أغلفةها المرنة والصلبة على التوالي. بحلول عام 2010، عندما تم إطلاق أول سيارات تعمل ببطارية ليثيوم أيون، كانت تصميمات الحقيبة والمنشورية راسخة في الأجهزة الإلكترونية الاستهلاكية وكان اعتمادها في السيارات الكهربائية خيارًا عمليًا. لبضع سنوات، سيطر هذان النوعان على سوق السيارات الكهربائية.

جاء التطور في الحكاية في عام 2012، عندما قدمت شركة تيسلا سيارة السيدان طراز S باستخدام بطاريات أيون الليثيوم الأسطوانية الرخيصة نسبيًا. شكل 1 يوضح أن هذه الأشكال الثلاثة كانت تتنافس باستمرار على حصة السوق.

يتبين من الشكل 1 أنه بين عامي 2013 و2019، حلت البطاريات الأسطوانية محل النوع المنشوري وحققت هيمنتها على السوق. كان هذا في المقام الأول بسبب تسلا. ولكن هل يعود المد مرة أخرى؟ يبدو أنه منذ عام 2021، بدأ الشكل المنشوري يشق طريقه مرة أخرى إلى المقدمة.

تطور الحصة السوقية لتنسيقات بطاريات السيارات الكهربائية

إذا كنت تقود سيارة تعمل بالبنزين أو الديزل، فستكون على دراية بالبطارية الصندوقية الموضوعة بشكل مريح في الزاوية، أسفل غطاء المحرك. بطاريات الرصاص الحمضية الثقيلة والضخمة لا تناسب السيارات الكهربائية التي تستوعب آلاف البطاريات خفيفة الوزن. لتحقيق التراص المدمج، تعد البطاريات الرفيعة على شكل لوح خيارًا أفضل. تأتي هذه في نوعين، وهما أنواع الحقيبة والمنشورية، والفرق هو أغلفةها المرنة والصلبة على التوالي. بحلول عام 2010، عندما تم إطلاق أول سيارات تعمل ببطارية ليثيوم أيون، كانت تصميمات الحقيبة والمنشورية راسخة في الأجهزة الإلكترونية الاستهلاكية وكان اعتمادها في السيارات الكهربائية خيارًا عمليًا. لبضع سنوات، سيطر هذان النوعان على سوق السيارات الكهربائية.

جاء التطور في الحكاية في عام 2012، عندما قدمت شركة تيسلا سيارة السيدان طراز S باستخدام بطاريات أيون الليثيوم الأسطوانية الرخيصة نسبيًا. ويبين الشكل 1 أن هذه الأشكال الثلاثة كانت تتنافس باستمرار على حصة السوق.

يتبين من الشكل 1 أنه بين عامي 2013 و2019، حلت البطاريات الأسطوانية محل النوع المنشوري وحققت هيمنتها على السوق. كان هذا في المقام الأول بسبب تسلا. ولكن هل يعود المد مرة أخرى؟ يبدو أنه منذ عام 2021، بدأ الشكل المنشوري يشق طريقه مرة أخرى إلى المقدمة.

البطارية الأسطوانية مقابل خلية البطارية المنشورية

من المحتمل أن يكون اختيار نوع البطارية المناسب هو القرار الأكبر الذي ستتخذه أي شركة مصنعة للسيارات الكهربائية. وبصرف النظر عن الأداء والتكلفة، يجب تأمين سلاسل توريد البطاريات. إذًا، ما هي السمات الرئيسية للبطاريات الأسطوانية والمنشورية؟ كيف يمكن للمرء أن يختار بينهما؟ دعونا نتعمق في التفاصيل!

ما هو خلية بطارية أسطوانية?

خلايا بطارية الليثيوم أيون الأسطوانية مصنوعة من هلام إلكتروليت محصور بين صفائح قطب الأنود والكاثود. يتم توفير ورقة فاصلة مسامية بين صفائح الأنود والكاثود، مما يمنع حدوث ماس كهربائي. على غرار الطريقة التي يتم بها صنع جيلي رول، يتم لف القطب الكهربائي وهلام الإلكتروليت و"شطيرة" الفاصل في أسطوانة ووضعها داخل غلاف معدني يتم تغطيته بعد ذلك. قد يكون السكن من الفولاذ المطلي بالنيكل أو الألومنيوم. بشكل عام، يتم تصنيع الكاثودات من أكسيد الليثيوم الممزوج بالنيكل والمنغنيز والكوبالت المطلي على رقائق الألومنيوم، في حين أن الأنود مصنوع من الجرافيت المطلي على رقائق النحاس. تعمل الرقائق المعدنية كمجمعات للتيار، بالإضافة إلى توفير قاعدة لطلاء القطب الكهربائي. يتدفق التيار من وإلى الخلية عبر شرائح معدنية تسمى Tabs ملحومة بالأقطاب الكهربائية.

هيكل بطارية EV الأسطوانية

ما هي النماذج الشائعة لخلايا البطارية الأسطوانية؟

كانت شركة تسلا رائدة في استخدام الخلايا الأسطوانية في سياراتها الكهربائية، وهي أكبر المشترين لهذه البطاريات في العالم. لديهم أيضا مرافق التصنيع الخاصة بهم. وبصرف النظر عن تيسلا، وعلى نطاق أصغر بكثير، يستخدم الوافدون الجدد مثل لوسيد وريفيان أيضًا بطاريات أسطوانية في بعض الطرازات. ستتبنى شركة BMW الألمانية الكبرى المنتجة لبطاريات Tesla تنسيق البطاريات الكبيرة في فئتها الجديدة من البطاريات. البطاريات الأسطوانية الأكثر شيوعًا هي موديلات 18650 و21700 و4680، حيث تمثل الأرقام عامل الشكل لكل بطارية.

هيكل بطارية EV المنشورية

إيجابيات وسلبيات الخلية الأسطوانية

الايجابيات

  • تتمتع الخلايا الأسطوانية بسلامة هيكلية أفضل مقارنة بالأشكال الأخرى نظرًا لأن الشكل الأنبوبي يمكنه تحمل الضغوط الميكانيكية الأعلى ويوجد عدد أقل من نقاط تركيز الإجهاد (حواف حادة).
  • لديهم كثافة طاقة وزنية أعلى مقارنة بالخلايا المنشورية.
  • تكلفة الإنتاج أقل بنسبة 15 إلى 10% من تكلفة الخلايا المنشورية.
  • بسبب عدم وجود طبقات متعددة مكدسة، تتمتع الخلايا الأسطوانية بمقاومة كهربائية أقل مقارنة بالخلايا المنشورية.

سلبيات

  • يمكن للخلايا الأسطوانية القيام بحوالي 2000 إلى 3000 دورة شحن وتفريغ فقط قبل أن تتحلل بنسبة 20٪. وهذا هو حوالي نصف ما يمكن أن تحققه الخلايا المنشورية.
  • كثافة التعبئة في حزمة البطارية أقل من كثافة الخلايا المنشورية مما يجعلها غير مناسبة للسيارات الصغيرة.

ما هي خلية البطارية المنشورية؟

اسم الخلية المنشورية مشتق من شكلها الهندسي وهو المنشور المستطيل. وعلى النقيض من بناء الجرح الحلزوني للخلايا الأسطوانية، فإن الخلية المنشورية تشبه شطيرة مكدسة. تتكون كل خلية من عدة طبقات، حيث تشتمل كل طبقة على هلام إلكتروليت يوضع بين صفائح الأنود والكاثود والفواصل المتداخلة. يتم بعد ذلك وضع الطبقات المكدسة داخل غلاف من الألومنيوم أو الفولاذ وعلامات تبويب معدنية متوفرة في الأعلى للتوصيل الكهربائي بالدائرة الخارجية.

عوامل شكل البطارية الأسطوانية التي تستخدمها تسلا

ما هي النماذج الشائعة لخلايا البطارية المنشورية؟

يتم استخدام الخلايا المنشورية بشكل أساسي من قبل شركات تصنيع السيارات الألمانية ويتم تصنيع البطاريات وفقًا للمعايير المحددة من قبل جمعية السيارات الألمانية. في الوقت الحاضر، تتوفر البطاريات المنشورية للبطاريات الكهربائية والهجينة بالأشكال التالية:

تنسيق الخلية العرض [مم] ارتفاع [مم] سمك [مم]
اتش اى 120 85 12.5
PHEV1 173 85 21
PHEV2 148 91 26.5
PHEV2 + 148 125 26.5
EV1 173 115 32
EV2 173 115 45

تشير الاختصارات HEV وPHEV وEV إلى مركبة كهربائية هجينة ومركبة كهربائية هجينة قابلة للشحن ومركبة كهربائية تعمل بالبطارية على التوالي.

إيجابيات وسلبيات خلية منشورية

الايجابيات

  • يمكن تكديس الخلايا المنشورية بشكل وثيق معًا دون وجود فجوات هوائية. يتيح ذلك تجميع المزيد من الخلايا في حجم أصغر، وهو أمر مفيد للسيارات الأصغر حجمًا.
  • يمكن للخلايا المنشورية أن تدوم لعدد أكبر من دورات الشحن والتفريغ (تصل إلى 5000)، وهو ما يقرب من ضعف عدد دورات الشحن والتفريغ الأسطوانية.
  • يعتبر التصنيع أكثر توحيدًا نسبيًا، نظرًا للامتثال لمعايير VDA.

 

سلبيات

  • انخفاض كثافة الطاقة الوزنية مقارنة بالخلايا الأسطوانية.
  • تعد الإدارة الحرارية لأكوام البطاريات أكثر صعوبة بسبب عدم وجود فجوة هوائية، مما يقلل من تبريد الهواء الإشعاعي والحملي.
  • يعتبر الشكل المنشوري أكثر عرضة للضغوط الميكانيكية مقارنة بالشكل الأسطواني.
  • تكاليف الإنتاج أعلى من الخلايا الأسطوانية.

 

متطلبات بطارية السيارة الكهربائية

على الرغم من أن البطاريات هي قلب أي سيارة كهربائية، إلا أنها جزء من نظام بطاريات متكامل ومعقد.

مكونات نظام بطارية السيارة الكهربائية

يتم تكديس خلايا متعددة وتوصيلها معًا بشكل متسلسل ومتوازي لتكوين وحدة بطارية. يتم توصيل العديد من وحدات البطاريات هذه كهربائيًا لتكوين حزمة بطارية. وبناءً على ذلك، يجب أن تكون البطاريات خفيفة الوزن وقوية ميكانيكيًا، مع زيادة محتوى الطاقة والطاقة المتاحة إلى أقصى حد. يجب أن يكون نقل الحرارة جيدًا، لضمان التبريد الفعال. من وجهة نظر العميل، تعتبر المسافة المقطوعة الطويلة ووقت الشحن السريع والعمر الطويل والتكلفة المنخفضة من الاعتبارات الرئيسية

وبالتالي، يجب أن تلبي بطارية السيارة الكهربائية الجيدة متطلبات العملاء، بالإضافة إلى المتطلبات الهندسية. إذًا، ما هي المعايير والمعايير الأساسية التي يجب الوفاء بها بالنسبة لبطارية السيارة الكهربائية؟ يسرد الجدول التالي المتطلبات الرئيسية لبطارية السيارة الكهربائية.

معلمة البطارية المعايير الحالية أهمية
كثافة الطاقة > 750 وات/لتر و> 350 وات/كجم للخلايا يحدد نطاق القيادة
التكلفة <$100/كيلوواط ساعة للخلايا تشكل تكاليف البطارية نسبة عالية من سعر السيارة الكهربائية
شحن سريع وقوة 80% ΔSOC في 15 دقيقة يريد العملاء أوقات شحن سريعة.
الحياة 15 سنة يجب أن يكون عمر البطارية على الأقل عمر السيارة حيث أن استبدال البطاريات الفردية ليس عمليًا.
الأداء الحد الأدنى من التأثير على البيئة يجب أن تكون وظيفة البطارية جيدة في الطقس البارد، الطقس الحار، الطقس الممطر، الظروف الصحراوية.
السلامة لا حريق / لهب / تمزق / انفجار يعد الهروب الحراري مصدر قلق كبير لجميع بطاريات الليثيوم أيون.

أيهما أفضل للسيارات الكهربائية؟

ينمو سوق بطاريات السيارات الكهربائية لكلا تنسيقي البطاريات. ومع ذلك، فإن السيارات الصغيرة تفضل الخلايا المنشورية لأنها تتطلب مساحة أقل مقارنة بالخلايا الأسطوانية. من ناحية أخرى، عندما تصبح المركبات ومجموعات البطاريات أكبر وأقوى، تكون الأفضلية للخلايا الأسطوانية. كما أن تكلفة الإنتاج أقل بكثير بالنسبة للخلايا الأسطوانية. ولهذا السبب يتم نسخ قرار تسلا باعتماد تنسيق 4680 لاعبين كبار آخرين مثل BMW.

لماذا استخدمت تسلا البطاريات الأسطوانية منذ البداية؟

في البداية، اختارت تسلا الطراز 18650 الأسطواني لسيارات السيدان الخاصة بها، حيث كان التصميم الأرخص والأكثر نضجًا من الناحية التكنولوجية المتاحة. لقد اكتسبوا بالفعل بعض الخبرة مع سيارتهم الرياضية السابقة رودستر. وبصرف النظر عن انخفاض تكاليف البطارية، فمن الواضح أن البطاريات الأسطوانية توفر نطاقًا أكبر مقارنة بالنوع المنشوري. الآن مع تنسيق Tabless الأكبر حجمًا 4680، تعمل Tesla على تغيير قواعد اللعبة فيما يتعلق بالمركبات الكهربائية ذات الطاقة العالية طويلة المدى. سبب آخر مهم هو وجود شركات تصنيع عالية الجودة للخلايا الأسطوانية مثل باناسونيك، مما يساعد تسلا على إنشاء سلسلة توريد مستقرة في البداية.

من منظور الإدارة الحرارية، تساعد فجوة الهواء بين الخلايا المتجاورة في التبريد الإشعاعي على عكس الخلايا المنشورية المتقاربة. يكون النقل الشعاعي للحرارة أكثر اتساقًا مما هو عليه في حالة الخلايا المنشورية غير المتماثلة.

وفي الختام

تعتبر الأشكال الأسطوانية والمنشورية مهمة لسوق السيارات الكهربائية. يعتبر الشكل المنشوري أفضل للمركبات الصغيرة. بالنسبة للمركبات الأكبر حجمًا، التي تتطلب نطاقًا وقوة أكبر، فإن التنسيق الأسطواني هو الأفضل.

انتقل إلى الأعلى

Table of Contents

Quick Quote

Cylindrical Battery Vs Prismatic battery Cell, Which Is Better For Electric Vehicles?

If you drive a Gasoline or Diesel fueled car, you would be familiar with the box-type battery sitting snugly in a corner, under the hood. Heavy and bulky Lead Acid batteries are not suited to electric cars, which accommodate thousands of lightweight batteries. To achieve compact stacking, thin slab- shaped batteries are a better choice. These come in two varieties, namely Pouch and Prismatic types, the difference being their flexible and hard casings respectively. By the year 2010, when the first Lithium ion battery powered cars were launched, the Pouch and Prismatic designs were well established in consumer electronics devices and their adoption in electric cars was a pragmatic choice. For a couple of years, these two varieties dominated the electric vehicle market.

The twist in the tale came in 2012, when Tesla introduced their Model S sedan using relatively cheap, Cylindrical Lithium ion batteries. Figure 1 shows that these three formats have been constantly competing for market share.

It can be seen from Figure 1 that between 2013 to 2019, Cylindrical batteries displaced the Prismatic type and achieved market dominance. This was primarily due to Tesla. But is the tide turning again? It seems that since 2021, the Prismatic format is once again pushing its way to the forefront.

Market Share Evolution Of EV Battery Formats

If you drive a Gasoline or Diesel fueled car, you would be familiar with the box-type battery sitting snugly in a corner, under the hood. Heavy and bulky Lead Acid batteries are not suited to electric cars, which accommodate thousands of lightweight batteries. To achieve compact stacking, thin slab- shaped batteries are a better choice. These come in two varieties, namely Pouch and Prismatic types, the difference being their flexible and hard casings respectively. By the year 2010, when the first Lithium ion battery powered cars were launched, the Pouch and Prismatic designs were well established in consumer electronics devices and their adoption in electric cars was a pragmatic choice. For a couple of years, these two varieties dominated the electric vehicle market.

The twist in the tale came in 2012, when Tesla introduced their Model S sedan using relatively cheap, Cylindrical Lithium ion batteries. Figure 1 shows that these three formats have been constantly competing for market share.

It can be seen from Figure 1 that between 2013 to 2019, Cylindrical batteries displaced the Prismatic type and achieved market dominance. This was primarily due to Tesla. But is the tide turning again? It seems that since 2021, the Prismatic format is once again pushing its way to the forefront.

Cylindrical Battery Vs Prismatic battery Cell

Choosing the appropriate type of battery is probably the biggest decision that any electric vehicle manufacturer will make. Apart from performance and cost, battery supply chains have to be secured. So, what are the key features of the Cylindrical and Prismatic batteries? How would one choose between them? Let’s dive into the details!

What’s The Cylindrical Battery Cell?

Cylindrical Li-ion battery cells are made of an electrolyte gel sandwiched between Anode and Cathode electrode sheets. A porous separator sheet is provided between the Anode and Cathode sheets, preventing short circuiting. Similar to how a Jelly Roll is made, the electrode, electrolyte gel and separator “sandwich” is rolled into a cylinder and placed inside a metallic housing which is then capped. The housing may be Nickel-plated Steel or Aluminium. Generally, the Cathodes are made from Lithium Oxide mixed with Nickel, Manganese and Cobalt coated onto Aluminium foil, whereas the Anode is made of Graphite coated onto Copper foil. The metallic foils act as current collectors, in addition to providing a base for the electrode coating. Current flows to and from the cell via metallic strips called Tabs welded to the electrodes.

Structure of Cylindrical EV Battery

What Are The Common Models Of Cylindrical Battery cells?

Tesla pioneered use of Cylindrical cells in their electric vehicles and are the world’s biggest buyers of these batteries. They also have their own manufacturing facilities. Apart from Tesla, on a much smaller scale, newcomers like Lucid and Rivian also use cylindrical batteries for some models. Major German Producer BMW will adopt Tesla’s big battery format for its new class of batteries. The most common cylindrical batteries are the 18650, 21700 and 4680 models, where the numbers represent the form factor of each battery.

Structure of Prismatic EV Battery

Pros And Cons Of The Cylindrical Cell

Pros

  • Cylindrical cells have better structural integrity compared to the other formats since the tubular shape can withstand higher mechanical stresses and there are fewer stress concentration points (sharp edges).
  • They have Higher gravimetric energy density compared to Prismatic cells.
  • The  cost of production is 15 to 10% lower than for Prismatic Cells.
  • Due to absence of multiple stacked layers, Cylindrical cells have lower electrical resistance compared to Prismatic cells.

Cons

  • Cylindrical cells can do only about 2000 to 3000 charge and discharge cycles before 20% degradation . This is about half of what Prismatic cells can achieve.
  • The packing density in a battery pack is lower than for Prism cells which make it disadvantageous for small cars.

What’s The Prismatic Battery Cell?

The name Prismatic cell is derived from its geometric shape, which is a rectangular Prism. In contrast to the spiral wound construction of Cylindrical cells, the Prismatic cell resembles a stacked sandwich. Each cell is made up of several layers, with each layer comprising electrolyte gel placed between Anode and Cathode sheets and intervening separators. The stacked layers are then enclosed within an Aluminium or Steel shell and metal tabs provided at the top for electrical connection to the external circuit.

Cylindrical Battery Form factors used by Tesla

What Are The common Models of Prismatic Battery cells?

Prismatic cells are used primarily by German car manufacturers and the batteries are made in accordance with standards specified by the German Automotive Association.  At present, Prismatic batteries for battery electric and hybrids are available in the following formats:

Cell Format Width [mm] Height [mm] Thickness [mm]
HEV 120 85 12.5
PHEV1 173 85 21
PHEV2 148 91 26.5
PHEV2+ 148 125 26.5
EV1 173 115 32
EV2 173 115 45

The abbreviations HEV, PHEV and EV stand for Hybrid electric vehicle, Plug-in hybrid electric vehicle and battery electric vehicle respectively.

Pros And Cons Of The Prismatic Cell

Pros

  • Prismatic cells can be stacked closely together without air gaps. This enables more cells to be packed into a smaller volume, which is useful for smaller cars.
  • Prismatic cells can last for a greater number of charge and discharge cycles (upto 5000), which is almost double that of cylindrical
  • Manufacturing is comparatively more standardized, due to compliance with VDA standards.

 

Cons

  • Lower gravimetric energy density compared to cylindrical cells.
  • Thermal management of battery stacks is more difficult due to the absence of air gap, which reduces radiative and convective air cooling.
  • The Prismatic format is more vulnerable to mechanical stresses, compared to the Cylindrical format.
  • Production costs are higher than for Cylindrical cells.

 

Electric Vehicle Battery Requirements

While batteries are the heart of any electric vehicle, they are part of a complex integrated battery system.

Components of An EV Battrey System

Multiple cells are stacked and connected together in series and parallel, to form a battery module. Many such battery modules are connected electrically make a battery pack. Accordingly, the batteries must be lightweight and mechanically strong, while maximizing energy content and available power. Heat transfer must be good, to ensure efficient cooling. From a customer perspective, long mileage, quick charge time, long lifespan and low cost are key considerations

Thus, a good electric vehicle battery must satisfy customer requirements, as well as engineering requirements. So, what are the key parameters and benchmarks to be met for an electric vehicle battery? The following table lists key electric vehicle battery requirements.

Battery Parameter Current Benchmarks Significance
Energy Densities >750 Wh/L & >350 Wh/kg for cells Determines the driving range
Cost <$100/kWh for cells Battery costs are a high proportion of EV price
Fast Charge and Power 80% ΔSOC in 15 min Customers want fast charge times.
Life 15 years The battery life must be at least vehicle life as replacement of individual batteries is not practicable.
Performance Minimum impact by environment Battery functionality must be good in cold weather, hot weather, rainy weather, desert conditions.
Safety No fire/flame/rupture/explosion Thermal runaway is a major concern with all Lithium ion batteries.

Which Is Better For Electric Vehicles?

The market for electric vehicle batteries is growing for both battery formats. However, the smaller cars prefer Prismatic cells as they require less space compared to Cylindrical cells.  On the other hand, when vehicles and battery packs become larger and powerful, the preference is for Cylindrical cells. The cost of production is also substantially lower for Cylindrical cells. That is why Tesla’s decision to adopt the 4680 format is being copied by other big players such as BMW.

Why Tesla Used Cylindrical Batteries From The Beginning

At the beginning, Tesla chose the cylindrical 18650 for their sedans, as it was the cheapest, technologically mature design available. They had already gained some experience with their earlier Roadster sports car.  Apart from lower battery costs, it is clear that Cylindrical batteries deliver more range compared to the Prismatic type. Now with the larger 4680, Tabless format, Tesla are changing the game for long range higher power electrical vehicles. Another important reason is the existence of top quality manufacturers of Cylindrical cells like Panasonic, helping Tesla to establish a stable supply chain at the beginning.

From a thermal management perspective, the air gap between adjacent cells helps in radiative cooling unlike closely packed Prismatic cells. The radial transfer of heat is more uniform than in the case of asymmetric Prismatic cells.

Conclusion

Both Cylindrical and Prismatic formats are important for the electric vehicle market. The Prismatic format is better for smaller vehicles. For larger vehicles, requiring more range and power, the Cylindrical format is better.

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
WhatsApp

Related Products

Scroll to Top