ما هو الغرض من اختبار عمر بطارية الليثيوم؟

ما هو الغرض من اختبار عمر بطارية الليثيوم؟

إذا احتفظت بمخزون طوارئ من البطاريات غير المستخدمة في المنزل، فربما تجد، في ساعة حاجتك، أن بعض البطاريات بحاجة إلى الإصلاح. في عالم بطاريات الليثيوم أيون، القديم ليس ذهباً! مثل البشر، تفقد البطاريات قدرتها مع تقدم العمر. مثلما يعتمد متوسط ​​العمر المتوقع للبشر على صحتهم، فإن عمر بطاريات الليثيوم أيون يعتمد على حالتهم الصحية (SoH). تُستخدم اختبارات التقادم لتقييم SoH البطارية والتنبؤ بعمرها.

قبل التعمق في موضوع اختبارات التقادم، دعونا نفهم المزيد عن تقادم البطارية. يوضح الشكل 1 نمط الشيخوخة النموذجي الذي لوحظ في بطاريات الليثيوم أيون.

يعرض نمط الشيخوخة ثلاث مراحل. تظهر المرحلة الأولى، التي تسمى "التسوية الأولية"، ارتفاعًا طفيفًا في السعة، على الرغم من أن البطارية قيد الاستخدام. قد يكون هذا مساهمة أيونات الليثيوم الإضافية المتوقفة في بنية الأنود، خارج منطقة القطب النشط، والمعروفة باسم تراكب الليثيوم. تُظهر المرحلة التالية من الشيخوخة معدلًا خطيًا لانخفاض السعة. تبدأ البطارية في النفاد بسرعة أكبر مما كانت عليه عندما كانت جديدة، ولكن ذلك يتم بشكل تدريجي. تحدث المرحلة الأخيرة من فقدان القدرة عند "نقطة الركبة" والتي قد تحدث عند 50-85 بالمائة من القدرة الأولية. في هذه المرحلة، يكون معدل انخفاض السعة حادًا جدًا وينتهي العمر الإنتاجي للبطارية.

الشكلان الرئيسيان للشيخوخة هما الشيخوخة التقويمية والشيخوخة الدورية. يحدث الشيخوخة التقويمية حتى في حالة عدم استخدام البطارية. يعتمد ذلك على درجة الحرارة وحالة الشحن (SoC). في درجات الحرارة المرتفعة، عمر البطارية أسرع. وبالمثل، فإن البطارية التي يتم الاحتفاظ بها باستمرار عند مستوى SoC مرتفع سيكون لها عمر تقويمي أقصر من البطارية التي تعمل عادةً عند مستوى SoC منخفض.

تحدث الشيخوخة الدورية بسبب استخدام البطارية. ويرجع ذلك إلى التدهور الكيميائي والفيزيائي الذي لا يمكن إصلاحه للهياكل الداخلية للبطارية أثناء كل دورة شحن وتفريغ. يعد عمق التفريغ (DoD) خلال كل دورة أحد العوامل. التفريغ العميق خلال كل دورة سوف يسبب الشيخوخة السريعة. ومن ثم يجب إبقاء وزارة الدفاع ضمن حدود معتدلة. وهذا موضح في الشكل 2 .

عمر البطارية هو شيء يرغب المستخدمون في تتبعه. ومع ذلك، أثناء الاستخدام، ليس من العملي تتبع متغيرات عمر الخلية مثل عدد الدورات، وشركة نفط الجنوب، ووزارة الدفاع، ودرجة حرارة التشغيل. أفضل وقت لإجراء اختبارات التقادم هو عندما تكون البطارية جديدة وجاهزة للتعبئة في المصنع. ولذلك، يتم إجراء اختبار عمر البطارية بشكل أساسي في المصنع لضمان الجودة. بمجرد بيع البطاريات، قد يختار بعض العملاء إجراء اختبارات محددة بناءً على متطلباتهم، مثل السيارات الكهربائية أو بطاريات التخزين. في الأقسام التالية، ستتعرف على اختبارات تقادم البطارية التي يجب إجراؤها في المصنع عندما تكون البطاريات جديدة.

ما هو اختبار الشيخوخة

اختبار التقادم هو اختبار محدود المدة لقياس الأداء وخصائص التقادم للبطارية في ظل ظروف خاضعة للرقابة. يتم فرض ظروف تشغيل مختلفة على عينات الاختبار، ويتم تقدير العمر المتوقع. تختلف ممارسات الاختبار في مختلف البلدان وبين الشركات المصنعة. تتمثل المنهجية العامة في استخدام تقنيات الشيخوخة المتسارعة، إلى جانب نماذج البرامج التي يمكنها ترجمة بيانات الاختبار لوصف معلمات الشيخوخة. يعد استخدام نماذج البرامج أمرًا ضروريًا حيث يجب أن يكون اختبار التقادم قادرًا على التنبؤ بعمر البطارية في ظل سيناريوهات مختلفة.

ولكن كيف يمكن تسريع شيخوخة البطارية لأغراض الاختبار؟ ويتم ذلك عن طريق وضع البطارية تحت ضغط متزايد طوال مدة الاختبار.

على سبيل المثال، ستؤدي درجة الحرارة المرتفعة إلى تسريع شيخوخة التقويم. يمكن تسريع التقادم الدوري عن طريق معالجة دورات الشحن والتفريغ، لمختلف وزارة الدفاع، ومعدلات الشحن والتفريغ (C-rates).

الغرض من اختبار الشيخوخة

يعد اختبار عمر البطارية خطوة لمراقبة الجودة. فهو يوفر أساسًا علميًا لتحديد العمر التقويمي المتوقع ودورة عمر البطارية.

أهمية اختبار عمر البطارية

يحتاج المستهلكون إلى الثقة في أن البطاريات الجديدة ستعمل بشكل مرض على مدى عمرها المتوقع. لا أحد يرغب في شراء بطارية تم تعبئتها على أنها جديدة ولكن تبين أنها في نهاية عمرها الافتراضي. وهذا أمر شائع مع بطاريات الليثيوم أيون ذات الجودة الرخيصة. ومن ثم، تعد اختبارات تقادم البطارية مهمة لأنها توفر ضمان الجودة اللازم على العمر المتوقع.

ما هي طرق اختبار عمر البطارية

يجب أن تكون اختبارات تقادم البطارية لمراقبة جودة الدُفعات في المصنع سريعة ودقيقة. يجب اختبار عينات تمثيلية من كل دفعة إنتاج. في حين يمكن الحصول على قياسات الاختبار المطلوبة بسهولة، فإن التنبؤ بعمر البطارية بناءً على البيانات أمر معقد. وتستخدم نماذج برمجية متطورة لهذا الغرض.

في هذا القسم، سنلقي نظرة على اختبار بطاريات أيون الليثيوم للأغراض العامة في السوق الاستهلاكية. ستكون الاختبارات المطلوبة لمستخدمي السيارات والبطاريات الصناعية الكبيرة أكثر صرامة وتستغرق عدة أسابيع وحتى أشهر. لا تتم مناقشة اختبارات الشيخوخة المتخصصة هنا.

تفقد البطارية الجديدة غير المستخدمة قدرتها تدريجيًا بسبب تقادم التقويم، اعتمادًا على درجة الحرارة وشركة نفط الجنوب. بمجرد دخول البطارية إلى الخدمة النشطة، يتأثر التقادم بشكل كبير بالعوامل الديناميكية المتغيرة التي لا يمكن إعادة إنتاجها بشكل موثوق في إعدادات المصنع. ومن ثم، بالنسبة لتطبيقات المستهلك العادية، تم تصميم اختبار تقادم البطارية لقياس تلاشي القدرة. يتكون اختبار الشيخوخة من ثلاث مراحل كما هو موضح أدناه:

  • تتضمن المرحلة الأولى قياسًا أساسيًا لسعة البطارية. تتم هذه القياسات عند درجات حرارة تمثل ظروف التخزين المحتملة، عادة 25 oC و 45 o
  • في المرحلة الثانية، تتعرض البطاريات للشيخوخة المتسارعة.
  • يحدث تلاشي السعة عن طريق تكرار دورات الشحن والتفريغ للتيار المستمر والجهد المستمر. يتم أيضًا تغيير معدل C من الأعلى إلى الأدنى. على سبيل المثال، يمكن أن يكون تسلسل التدوير لمجموعة اختبار مكونة من 18650 بطارية ليثيوم أيون كما يلي:
    • اشحن بتيار ثابت (CC) قدره C/3 إلى جهد قطع قدره 4.2 فولت، متبوعًا بخطوة جهد ثابت (CV) عند 4.2 فولت حتى ينخفض ​​تيار الشحن إلى 0.1 أمبير.
    • أعط فترة راحة مدتها دقيقة واحدة
    • قم بإجراء التفريغ عند تيار ثابت عادة 1C للتفريغ العادي و4C عند إجراء اختبارات التفريغ العالي. يجب الحفاظ على التيار المستمر حتى ينخفض ​​الجهد إلى 2.5 فولت.
    • أعط فترة راحة مدتها دقيقة واحدة
    • كرر التسلسل أعلاه 30 مرة بمعدل 1C و40 مرة بمعدل 4C.
  • تتضمن المرحلة الثالثة تكرار قياسات السعة لكل بطارية. هناك قياسات متكررة تسمى اختبار الأداء المرجعي (RPT). يشير التغيير في السعة إلى مدى تدهور البطارية بسبب الشيخوخة.
  • وبعد ذلك، يتم استخدام نماذج برمجية لتحليل البيانات والتنبؤات المتعلقة بالعمر المستقبلي للبطارية.

يتكون منضدة اختبار التقادم من آلات اختبار يتم التحكم في مناخها مع عدة قنوات لاختبار البطارية، واحدة لكل خلية. يتم توصيل كل شيء بأجهزة الكمبيوتر التي تعالج البيانات مع مرور الوقت

يوضح الشكل 3 آلة اختبار عمر بطارية أيون الليثيوم النموذجية للاستخدام العادي في المصنع.

لماذا من الضروري إجراء اختبار التقادم بعد تصنيف البطارية وتقسيمها؟

يتم إجراء اختبار التقادم بعد اكتمال التصنيع، لأن المستهلك سيشتري المنتج النهائي فقط. ومن ثم يجب فصل عينات الاختبار بالفعل إلى فئات المبيعات المعنية.

كيفية تحديد درجة الشيخوخة لحزمة بطارية الليثيوم بسرعة؟

تعتبر اختبارات القدرة المذكورة أعلاه هي أسرع طريقة للحصول على القياس ذي الصلة. وفي الوقت نفسه، يجب استخدام برنامج اختبار العمر المناسب، والذي يمكنه تحليل مئات سيناريوهات التقادم للبطاريات الجديدة والقديمة أيضًا.

 

ما هي الاختبارات الأخرى اللازمة إلى جانب اختبارات الشيخوخة؟

فيما يلي فحوصات مراقبة الجودة الروتينية لجميع بطاريات الليثيوم أيون:

  • الفحص البصري: يجب ألا يكون هناك أي عيوب مرئية مثل الخدش العميق أو التشقق أو الصدأ أو تغير اللون أو التسرب.
  • التحقق من الأبعاد: يجب أن تتطابق أبعاد البطارية مع التنسيق المحدد.
  • اختبار طاقة البطارية: ويتم ذلك عن طريق اختبارات الشحن والتفريغ. لا يتم إجراء هذا الاختبار على كل بطارية، حيث يمكن اختيار حجم عينة تمثيلي لكل دفعة إنتاج. يتضمن الشحن القياسي الشحن بتيار ثابت قدره 0.5 درجة مئوية وأيضًا عن طريق الشحن بجهد ثابت قدره 4.2 فولت مع تيار مستدق، ويتوقف أخيرًا عند 50 مللي أمبير. يتضمن التفريغ القياسي التفريغ عند تيار ثابت قدره 0.2C، حتى الوصول إلى جهد 2.50V.
  • اختبار الشحن/التفريغ العالي: يتم إجراء هذا الاختبار أيضًا على مجموعة تمثيلية من البطاريات من كل دفعة إنتاج. معدل الشحن في هذه الحالة هو عند تيار ثابت قدره 0.5 درجة مئوية حتى الجهد 4.20 فولت، والتيار النهائي 50 مللي أمبير. يتم بعد ذلك تفريغ الخلايا عند تيار ثابت قدره 0.5 درجة مئوية حتى جهد منخفض يبلغ 2.50 فولت. يتم استراحة الخلايا لمدة 10 دقائق بعد الشحن و20 دقيقة بعد التفريغ.
  • دورة الحياة: يتم شحن وتفريغ خلايا الاختبار التمثيلية وفقًا لاختبار التصريف العالي، لمدة 500 دورة. يتم تعريف الدورة على أنها شحنة واحدة وتفريغ واحد. يجب أن تكون طاقة التفريغ رقم ​​501 أكبر من 70 بالمائة من طاقة البطارية الأولية.
  • اختبار التخزين: يتم شحن خلايا العينة بمعدل قياسي وتخزينها في بيئة يمكن التحكم في درجة حرارتها عند 23 درجة مئوية ± 2 درجة مئوية لمدة 30 يومًا. بعد التخزين، يتم تفريغ الخلايا بالمعدل القياسي. يجب أن تكون الطاقة المتبقية أكبر من 90 بالمائة من الطاقة الأولية.
  • اختبار درجة الحرارة العالية: يتم شحن خلايا العينة بمعدل قياسي وتخزينها في بيئة يمكن التحكم في درجة حرارتها عند 60 درجة مئوية لمدة أسبوع واحد. بعد التخزين، يتم تفريغ الخلايا بمعدل قياسي ثم يتم تدويرها لمدة 1 دورات للحصول على الطاقة المستردة. يجب أن تكون نسبة استعادة الطاقة أكبر من 3 بالمائة.
  • اختبار السقوط: يتم شحن خلايا العينة بمعدل قياسي ويتم إسقاطها على أرضية خشبية من ارتفاع 1.0 متر. يتم تنفيذ ما مجموعه 3 قطرات، تضم قطرتين من كل محطة خلية وقطرة واحدة من جانب غلاف الخلية. لا ينبغي أن يكون هناك أي تسرب أو ارتفاع في درجة الحرارة.
انتقل إلى الأعلى

Table of Contents

Quick Quote

What is The Purpose of Lithium Battery Aging Test?

What is The Purpose of the Lithium Battery Aging Test?

If you keep an emergency stock of unused batteries at home, you may have found, in your hour of need, that some of the batteries need to be fixed. In the world of Lithium ion batteries, old is not gold! Like human beings, batteries lose their capacity with age. Just as the life expectancy of human beings depends on their health, the aging of Lithium-ion batteries depends upon their State of Health (SoH). Aging tests are used to assess the battery’s SoH and predict its lifespan.

Before delving deeper into the subject of aging tests, let us understand a bit more about battery aging. Figure 1 illustrates typical aging pattern observed in Lithium ion batteries.

The aging pattern displays three phases. The first phase, termed “initial settling” shows a slight capacity rise, even though the battery is under use. This may be the contribution of extra Lithium ions parked in the Anode structure, beyond to active electrode area, known as Lithium overhang. The next phase of aging shows a linear rate of capacity decrease. The battery starts running-out more rapidly than when it was fresh, but it is gradual. The final stage of capacity loss occurs at the “knee point” which may occur at 50-85 percent of initial capacity. At this stage the capacity decline rate is very steep and the battery’s useful life is over.

The two main forms of aging are Calendric aging and Cyclic aging. Calendric aging happens even when the battery isn’t being used. It depends upon the temperature and the State of Charge (SoC). At higher temperatures, the battery ages faster. Similarly, a battery kept constantly at a high SoC will have a shorter calendar life than a battery normally operated at a lower SoC.

Cyclic aging occurs due to battery usage. This is due to irreversible chemical and physical deterioration of the battery’s internal structures during every charge and discharge cycle. The depth of discharge (DoD)during each cycle is a factor. Deep discharge during each cycle will cause rapid aging. Hence DoD must be kept within moderate limits. This illustrated in Figure 2 .

Battery age is something that users would like to track. However, during usage, it is not practical to keep track of cell aging variables like number of cycles, SoC, DoD and operating temperature. The best time to perform aging tests is when the battery is new and ready for packing at the factory. Battery aging test are therefore, mainly performed at the factory, for quality assurance. Once the batteries have been sold, then some customers may choose to do specific tests based on their requirements, such as for electric vehicles or storage batteries. In the following sections, you will learn about battery aging tests that should be performed at the factory, when the batteries are new.

What Is The Aging Test

The aging test is a limited duration test to gauge the performance and aging characteristics of a battery under controlled conditions.Different operating conditions are imposed upon the test samples, and expected lifetime is estimated. Test practices vary in different countries and among manufacturers. The general methodology is to employ accelerated aging techniques, together with software models that can translate the test data to characterize aging parameters. The use of software models is necessitated as the aging test must be able to predict the life of the battery under various scenarios.

But how to accelerate battery aging for test purposes? This is done by placing the battery under increased stress for the test duration.

For example, elevated temperature will accelerate calendar aging. Cyclic aging can be speeded up by manipulating charge and discharge cycles, for different DoD, charge and discharge rates (C-rates).

Purpose of The Aging Test

The battery aging test is a quality control step. It provides a scientific basis to specify the expected calendar life and cycle life of a battery.

Importance of The Battery Aging Test

Consumers need to have confidence that new batteries will perform satisfactorily over their expected lifetimes. Nobody wants to purchase a battery that is packaged as new but turns out to be at the end of its life. This is a common occurrence with cheaper quality Lithium ion batteries. Hence battery aging tests are important as they provide the necessary quality assurance on life expectancy.

What Are The Ways Of Battery Aging Test

Battery aging tests for batch quality control at the factory must be fast and accurate. Representative samples from every production batch have to be tested. While the required test measurements can be easily obtained, predicting battery lifespan based on the data is complex. Sophisticated software models are used for this purpose.

In this section, we look at testing of Lithium ion batteries for the general purpose consumer market. The tests required for automotive and large industrial battery users will be more stringent and take several weeks and even months. Such specialized aging tests are not discussed here.

A new, unused, battery gradually loses capacity due to calendar aging, depending on temperature and SoC. Once the battery enters active service, aging is greatly influenced by variable dynamic factors which cannot be reliably reproduced in a factory setting. Hence for normal consumer applications, the battery aging test is designed to measure capacity fade. The aging test has three stages as described below:

  • The first stage involves baseline measurement of battery capacity. These measurements are done at temperatures representing possible storage conditions, typically 25 oC and 45 o
  • In the second stage, the batteries are subjected to accelerated aging.
  • Capacity fade is induced by repeated constant current and constant voltage charging and discharge cycles. The C-rate is also changed from high to low. For example, the cycling sequence for a test batch of 18650 Lithium ion batteries could be as follows:
    • Charge at a constant current (CC) of C/3 to a cut-off voltage of 4.2 V, followed by a constant voltage (CV) step at 4.2 V until the charge current drops to 0.1 A.
    • Give a Rest period of 1 minute
    • Perform the discharge at a constant current typically 1C for normal discharge and 4C when doing high discharge tests. The constant current should be maintained till the voltage drops to 2.5V.
    • Give a rest period of 1 minute
    • Repeat the above sequence 30 times at 1C rate and 40 times at 4C rate.
  • The third stage involves repeating the capacity measurements for each battery. There repeat measurements are called Reference Performance Test (RPT). The change in capacity indicates how much the battery has deteriorated due to aging.
  • Thereafter, software models are used to analyse the data and make predictions regarding future life of the battery.

The aging test bench consists of climate-controlled testing machines with several battery testing channels, one for each cell. Everything is hooked up to computers which process the data the aging

Figure 3 shows a typical Lithium ion battery age testing machine for normal factory use.

Why Is It Necessary To Do The Aging Test After The Battery Has Been Categorized And Divided?

The aging test is done after manufacturing is complete, because the consumer is going to buy only the finished product. Hence the test samples must be already segregated into the respective sales categories.

How To Quickly Determine Aging Degree Of Lithium Battery Pack?

The capacity tests that have been mentioned above are the fastest way to obtain relevant measurement. At the same time, appropriate age testing software must be used, which can analyse hundreds of aging scenarios, for new as well as old batteries.

 

What Other Tests are Needed Besides Aging Tests

Routine quality control checks  for all Lithium ion batteries are as below:

  • Visual Check:  There should not be any visible defects such as deep scratch, crack, rust, discoloration or leakage.
  • Dimension Check: The battery dimensions should match the specified format.
  • Battery Power test: This is done by charge and discharge tests. This test is not done on every battery, a representative sample size of each production batch can be selected. The standard charge involves charging at constant current of 0.5C and also by charging at constant voltage of 4.2V with tapering current, finally stopping at 50 mA. The standard discharge is involves discharging at a constant current of 0.2C, till a voltage of 2.50V is reached.
  • High Drain Charge/Discharge test: This test is also done on a representative set of batteries from each production batch. The charging rate in this case is at constant current of 0.5C till voltage of 4.20V, and end current of 50mA. Cells are then discharged at constant current of 0.5C till a low voltage of 2.50V. Cells are rested for 10 minutes after charge and 20 minutes after discharge.
  • Cycle Life: Representative test cells are charged and discharged as per the high drain test, for 500 cycles. A cycle is defined as one charge and one discharge. The 501st discharge power should be greater than 70 percent of the initial battery power.
  • Storage test: Sample cells are charged at standard rate and stored in a temperature-controlled environment at 23ºC ± 2ºC for 30 days. After storage, cells are discharged at the standard rate. The residual power should be greater than 90 percent of initial power.
  • High Temperature test: Sample cells are charged at standard rate and stored in a temperature-controlled environment at 60ºC for 1 week. After storage, the cells are discharged at standard rate and then cycled for 3 cycles to obtain recovered power. The power recovery should be greater than 80 percent.
  • Drop test: Sample cells are charged at standard rate and are dropped onto a wooden floor from 1.0 meter height. A total of 3 drops are performed, comprising 2 drops from each cell terminal and 1 drop from the side of cell casing. There should not be any leakage or temperature rise.
Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
WhatsApp

Related Products

Scroll to Top