ما هي بطارية 4680؟

On يوم بطارية تسلا 2020، أطلقت تسلا بطارية ليثيوم أيون 4680 التي غيرت قواعد اللعبة، وبذلك احتلت المركز الأول في السباق لبناء بطاريات كبيرة. في الصورة أدناه، يمكنك رؤية الميزات الرئيسية لسيارة Tesla 4680 المعروضة على الشاشة خلف Elon Musk، أثناء الحدث. يشير الاسم 4680 إلى عامل الشكل الأسطواني الذي يبلغ قطره 46 ملم وطوله 80 ملم.

ما هي بطارية 4680

توفر بطارية Tesla 4680 طاقة 5 أضعاف وقوة 6 أضعاف سابقتها المباشرة في محفظة Tesla، بطارية 2170. مع 4680، تتوقع تسلا زيادة بنسبة 16٪ في نطاق السيارة. والأهم من ذلك كله، أن الطراز 4680 تم تصميمه كمكون هيكلي لحزمة البطارية. وهذا يعني أن مجموعة البطارية سوف تمتص بعض الأحمال الهيكلية للسيارة، وبالتالي تحقيق الوزن الخفيف الإجمالي.

إذًا كيف تمكنت تسلا من تحقيق مثل هذا التعزيز الضخم في الأداء؟ هل هذا هو مستقبل سيارات تسلا الكهربائية؟ ما هي تكلفة ذلك؟ من هم اللاعبون الآخرون في مساحة البطارية الكبيرة؟ للإجابة على هذه الأسئلة وأكثر، دعونا نتعمق أكثر في الجوانب الفنية للبطارية 4680.

الميزات الرئيسية لبطارية تسلا 4680

حجم كبير المزيد من القوة

أول شيء واضح يلاحظه المرء بشأن البطارية هو حجمها الكبير. حجم 4680 هو خمسة أضعاف ونصف حجم 2170. وهذا يسمح بحجم أكبر جيلي رول ليتم استيعابها. في لغة البطارية، جيلي رول عبارة عن لفة شطيرة أسطوانية متعددة الطبقات مكونة من هلام إلكتروليت يوضع بين صفائح الكاثود والفاصل والأنود. تعمل لفة الجيلي الأكبر حجمًا على زيادة كمية حاملات الشحنة النشطة ومساحات سطح القطب الكهربائي. وهذا يترجم إلى قدر أكبر من تخزين الطاقة وتسليمها من كل خلية. يوضح الشكل 2 مفهوم جيلي رول.

حجم كبير المزيد من القوة

بطارية الأجهزة اللوحية

يستخدم Tesla 4680 براءة اختراع تصميم الطاولاتمما يقلل بشكل كبير من المقاومة الكهربائية الداخلية. علامات التبويب عبارة عن قطع معدنية موصلة أو شرائح ملحومة بصفائح قطب الأنود والكاثود. يوضح الشكل 3 بطارية تحتوي على علامتي تبويب.

بطارية الأجهزة اللوحية

علامات التبويب هي الوصلات التي تتدفق فيها الإلكترونات بين الدائرة الخارجية وأقطاب البطارية. أثناء الشحن، تطلق ذرات الليثيوم المدمجة في جميع أنحاء صفيحة الكاثود المطوية إلكترونات. وبالمثل، أثناء تفريغ الخلية، تندمج ذرات الليثيوم في جميع أنحاء صفيحة الأنود في لفة الجيلي لتحرر الإلكترونات. في كلتا الحالتين، يجب أن تنتقل هذه الإلكترونات إلى علامات التبويب المعنية لدخول الدائرة الخارجية.

التحدي الذي تواجهه البطاريات الكبيرة هو أن المسار الأطول للإلكترونات يولد المزيد من الحرارة وانخفاض الجهد بسبب المقاومة الأومية. لقد جرب مصممو البطاريات عدة علامات تبويب متباعدة بشكل وثيق للتخفيف من هذه المشكلة. ومع ذلك، يصعب تصنيعها وتزيد من مخاطر تلف الأقطاب الكهربائية أثناء اللحام. لقد وجدت تسلا حلاً مبتكرًا لهذه المشكلة، من خلال التخلص من علامات التبويب تمامًا! بدلاً من ذلك، تحتوي البطارية 4680 على شرائح موصلة تمتد على طول حواف صفائح الأنود والكاثود، كما هو موضح في الشكل 4.

بهذه الطريقة، يمكن لحافة واحدة كاملة من صفائح الأنود والكاثود أن تؤدي نفس وظيفة علامات التبويب، مما يقلل بشكل كبير من المقاومة الكهربائية وتوليد الحرارة.

المقاومة الكهربائية وتوليد الحرارة.

الكيمياء الجديدة

أعلنت شركة تسلا أن بطارية 4680 سيكون لها كيميائي جديدy لتعزيز الأداء بشكل كبير وخفض التكاليف. في المستقبل، لن يستخدم الكاثود الوصفة المثبتة لأكسيد الليثيوم مع 80% نيكل و10% كوبالت و10% منجنيز (يسمى NMC-811). وبدلاً من ذلك، ستحتوي بطارياتها البالغ عددها 4680 على كاثودات تحتوي على نسبة أعلى بكثير من النيكل ومحتوى أقل من الكوبالت. تركيبة الكاثود المستهدفة هي NMC 955 والتي تتكون من 90% نيكل و5% كل من المنغنيز والكوبالت. يؤدي ارتفاع محتوى النيكل إلى تحسين كثافة الطاقة، على الرغم من أنه يسبب مشاكل تتعلق باستقرار القطب الكهربائي، والتي ربما يكون تسلا قد تغلب عليها. يعد تقليل محتوى الكوبالت ضروريًا لتقليل الاعتماد على منطقة الكونغو، التي توفر 70% من الكوبالت في العالم. كما أنه سيخفض تكاليف الكاثود.

تتضمن تحسينات تسلا في كيمياء الأنود استبدال الجرافيت بشكل كبير أو كامل بالسيليكون المعدني الخام. وبما أن السيليكون من الدرجة المطلوبة متوافر بكثرة في القشرة الأرضية ورخيص نسبيًا، فإن التحول إلى السيليكون سيقلل من تكلفة الأنودات. تكمن مشكلة أنودات السيليكون في تمدد حجمها عندما تدخل ذرات الليثيوم إلى الأنود أثناء دورات الشحن والتفريغ. يؤدي هذا في النهاية إلى تدمير القطب الكهربائي. ومع ذلك، وبالنظر إلى إعلاناتهم، يبدو أن شركة تسلا قد وجدت حلاً.

بشكل عام، تتوقع تسلا انخفاض تكاليف البطارية وزيادة المدى بسبب هذه الابتكارات الكيميائية.

حالة الصلب سمكا

استخدمت تسلا علبة فولاذية أكثر سمكًا لـ 4680 مقارنة بنظيرتها 2170. قد يكون هذا بسبب أنه سيتم تركيب هذه البطاريات في حزمة بطارية هيكلية ويجب أن تتحمل أحمالًا ميكانيكية أعلى. يمكن للمرء أيضًا أن ينظر إلى هذا على أنه حماية إضافية ضد الأضرار الناجمة عن الصدمات.

إيجابيات وسلبيات

في حين أن بعض إعلانات تيسلا قد تكون مجرد ضجيج تسويقي، تظل الحقيقة أنه بحلول يناير 2022 كانت قد أنتجت بالفعل سيارة mمليون خلية من البطارية 4680. وفي مكالمة أرباح العام الماضي بعد نتائج الربع الأول من عام 2023، أكدوا التقدم في بناء مصنع تكساس جيجا الذي سيقوم بتصنيع 4680 خلية من الجيل الثاني. وهذا ما يجعلهم الرائدين بوضوح في مجال صناعة البطاريات 4680.

كثير tيقوم مصنعو بطاريات op بتطوير تصميمات بطاريات بتنسيق 4680، ويمضي البعض قدمًا في استثمارات على نطاق الإنتاج. وبالتالي، فإن بطارية 4680 ستحدث ثورة في عالم السيارات الكهربائية قريبًا. ماذا يعني هذا بالنسبة للمستهلك "المتوسط"؟ وبناء على ما نعرفه في هذا الوقت، دعونا نلقي نظرة على الإيجابيات والسلبيات.

الايجابيات

  • تعد سيارة Tesla 4680 بتوفير عدد أكبر من الأميال وخفض التكاليف لكل كيلووات في الساعة بسبب زيادة كثافة الطاقة، وتحسين كيمياء البطارية، والوزن الخفيف للمركبة بشكل عام بسبب تصميم البطارية الهيكلية.
  • ومن المتوقع أن تستمر سيارة تيسلا 4680 لمسافة مليون ميل على الأقل، وهو أكثر بكثير مما سيقوده المستخدم العادي طوال عمر السيارة.
  • يتضمن تصميم البطارية ميزات أمان محسنة مثل تبديد الحرارة بشكل أفضل وتقليل مخاطر عيوب التصنيع بسبب تصميم Tables.
  • أنتجت تسلا بالفعل عدة ملايين من خلايا الجيل الأول 4680 واكتسبت خبرة تصنيع وتشغيل قيمة مع هذه البطارية الجديدة. وسيقدم مصنعهم العملاق في تكساس إصدارات محسنة من 4680. وقد بدأ تصميم البطارية في النضج، مما يقلل من مخاطر الملكية أو الاستثمار.

سلبيات

  • في الوقت الحاضر، تم تصميم 4680 فقط لطراز Tesla Model Y الجديد بسعر حوالي 60,000 ألف دولار. وهذا قد لا يكون في متناول الكثيرين.
  • لم يتم تنفيذ الادعاءات المتعلقة بكيمياء البطاريات الجديدة في الجيل الأول من البطاريات البالغ عددها 4680، والتي يبدو أنها NMC 811 وGraphite. قد يستغرق الأمر بعض الوقت حتى يتم إطلاق خلايا Tesla عالية النيكل والسيليكون 4680 في السوق.
  • قد يتوصل المنافسون إلى تصميمات أفضل لبطارية 4680 بالإضافة إلى خيارات أخرى بما في ذلك بطاريات أيون الصوديوم أو بطاريات الحالة الصلبة.

تطور خلية البطارية الأسطوانية

في محاضرة نوبل التي ألقاها أكيرا يوشيرو في عام 2019، يتتبع تطور تكنولوجيا بطاريات الليثيوم أيون. شهدت التسعينيات ظهور الهواتف المحمولة، التي أصبحت مناسبة بشكل ممتاز لبطاريات الليثيوم أيون خفيفة الوزن وكثيفة الطاقة التي تم اختراعها حديثًا. كانت الأسواق الأولية تركز بالكامل على قطاع الإلكترونيات الشخصية، حتى عام 1990، عندما تم طرحها في سوق السيارات الكهربائية. ويوضح الشكل 2010، المذكور في محاضرته، نمو سوق بطاريات الليثيوم أيون منذ عام 5. ويمكنك أن ترى كيف من المتوقع أن تهيمن السيارات الكهربائية بشكل كبير على حصة السوق بحلول عام 2010.

تطور خلية البطارية الأسطوانية

أول سيارة كهربائية تم إطلاقها تجاريًا باستخدام بطاريات ليثيوم أيون كانت نيسان ليف. كان نموذج الجيل الأول قيد الإنتاج من عام 2010 إلى عام 2017. ويستخدم خلايا أيون الليثيوم المسطحة. في مصطلحات البطارية، هذا هو "تنسيق الحقيبة". تستمر أحدث سيارات نيسان ليف في استخدام البطاريات من نوع الحقيبة.

أشكال البطاريات الثلاثة المستخدمة حاليًا من قبل الشركات المصنعة للسيارات الكهربائية هي الأنواع الحقيبة، والمنشورية، والأسطوانية. في عام 2020، كانت الحصة السوقية لكل نوع من البطاريات في فئة سيارات الركاب منشورية بنسبة 40%، وحقيبة الحقيبة بنسبة 35%، وأسطوانية بنسبة 15%. .

كان تسلا أول من استخدم خلية أيون الليثيوم الأسطوانية في سياراته الكهربائية. لقد بدأوا بـ Panasonic 18650 الرخيص نسبيًا، ولكن الذي أثبت كفاءته، ثم انتقلوا إلى عامل الشكل 2170. وهم الآن ينتقلون إلى الخلية الأكبر حجمًا 4680. كانت الشركات المصنعة الأخرى مثل BMW وCATL تتبنى لاحقًا البطاريات الأسطوانية. ومع ذلك، فإن محرك السوق هو تسلا، ويعكس تطور بطاريات الليثيوم أيون الأسطوانية تطور تسلا. يوضح الشكل 6 أمثلة على البطاريات الأسطوانية التي تدعم نمو شركة تسلا.

بطارية 4680 مقابل بطارية 18650

بالنسبة للمستهلكين، ما يهم في نهاية المطاف هو اقتصاديات ورفاهية الملكية. تعد شركة Tesla أكبر شركة مصنعة للسيارات الكهربائية في العالم، وقد شمل طريقها إلى النجاح استخدام بطاريات الليثيوم أيون الأسطوانية. لذلك دعونا نقارن بين الخلايا الأسطوانية الثلاث التي تشغل سيارات تيسلا، من وجهة نظر المستهلك.

بطارية 4680 مقابل بطارية 18650

كيف يمكن مقارنة أصغر وأكبر بطارية تسلا مع نظيراتها الأقدم والأصغر؟ للإجابة على ذلك دعونا نقارن بين البطاريات 4680 والبطاريات 18650:

معامل 4680 18650 ملاحظات
السعة (الحد الأقصى) 25000 mAh 3500 mAh نظرًا لارتفاع مستوى مللي أمبير في الساعة، سيستمر جهاز 4680 لفترة أطول بين عمليات إعادة الشحن
كثافة الطاقة (الخلية) 276 إلى 333 واط/كجم 250 واط/كجم 4680 يمكن أن يوفر المزيد من القوة.
المقاس 46 ملم ضياء. × 80 ملم HT. 18 ملم ضياء. × 65 ملم HT. نظرًا لحجمها الأكبر، تحتوي 4680 على جيلي رول أكبر ويمكنها تخزين المزيد من الطاقة
سمك جدار الهيكل الصلب 0.5-0.6 ملم 0.22 0.28 لملم يتمتع 4680 بقوة ميكانيكية أعلى لتحمل الصدمات
دورة الحياة 1000-2000 1500-4000 عمر دورة 4680 أقل من 18650 ولكنه سيتطلب شحنًا أقل تكرارًا
الوزن الصافي (الحد الأقصى) 355 GMS 50 GMS 4680 أثقل ومناسب للسيارات الأكبر حجمًا.

بطارية 4680 مقابل بطارية 2170

نظرًا لأن بطارية 2170 هي السلف المباشر لبطارية 4680 في تاريخ تيسلا التطوري، فيجب أن تكون المقارنة أدناه مثيرة للاهتمام:

معامل 4680 2170 ملاحظات
السعة (الحد الأقصى) 25000 mAh 5600 mAh نظرًا لارتفاع مستوى مللي أمبير في الساعة، سيستمر جهاز 4680 لفترة أطول بين عمليات إعادة الشحن
كثافة الطاقة (الخلية) 276 إلى 333 واط/كجم 276 إلى 300 واط/كجم الفرق ليس كثيرا.
المقاس 46 ملم ضياء. × 80 ملم HT. 21 ملم ضياء. × 70 ملم HT. نظرًا لحجمه الأكبر، يحتوي 4680 على جيلي رول أكبر ويمكنه تخزين المزيد من الطاقة
سمك جدار الهيكل الصلب 0.5-0.6 ملم 0.22 0.34 لملم يتمتع 4680 بقوة ميكانيكية أعلى لتحمل الصدمات
دورة الحياة 1000-2000 1500 دورة حياة مماثلة
الوزن الصافي (الحد الأقصى) 355 GMS 70 GMS 4680 أثقل ومناسب للسيارات الأكبر حجمًا.

وفي الختام

تعد بطارية 4680 الجديدة التي أطلقتها شركة Tesla بمثابة تغيير حقيقي لقواعد اللعبة نظرًا لقوتها ونطاقها المعزز. أصبحت ميزات الأمان الآن أفضل. سيكون العامل الرئيسي هو تكلفة البطارية، والتي تتوقف على الدمج الناجح لتكاليف أقل للكاثود والأنودات

انتقل إلى الأعلى

Table of Contents

Quick Quote

What’s the 4680 battery?

On Tesla Battery Day 2020, Tesla launched its game-changing 4680 Lithium-ion battery, thus taking pole position in the race to build large batteries. In the photo below, you can see the key features of the Tesla 4680 projected on the screen behind Elon Musk, during the event. The name 4680 indicates its cylindrical  Form Factor, having a diameter of 46mm and a length of 80 mm.

What’s the 4680 battery

The Tesla 4680 delivers 5 times the energy and 6 times the power of its immediate predecessor in the Tesla portfolio, the 2170 battery. With 4680, Tesla expects an increase of 16% in the vehicle range. And to top it all, the 4680 is designed as a structural battery pack component. This means that the battery pack will absorb some of the structural loads of the car, thereby achieving overall light-weighting.

So how did Tesla manage to accomplish such a huge performance boost? Is this the future of Tesla electric vehicles? What is it going to cost? Who are the other players in the large battery space? To answer these questions and more, let us delve deeper into the technicalities of the 4680 battery.

Key Features of Tesla’s 4680 Battery

Big Size More Power

The first and obvious thing one notices about the battery is its large size. The volume of 4680 is five and a half times that of 2170.  This allows a bigger Jelly Roll to be accommodated. In battery parlance, a Jelly Roll is a multilayered cylindrical sandwich roll formed by electrolyte gel placed between sheets of Cathode, Separator, and Anode. A larger Jelly Roll increases the quantity of active charge carriers and electrode surface areas. This translates into greater power storage and delivery from each cell. Figure 2 illustrates the Jelly Roll concept.

Big Size More Power

Tablets Battery

The Tesla 4680 uses a patented Tabless Design, which dramatically reduces internal electrical resistance. Tabs are conductive metallic pieces or strips welded to the Anode and Cathode electrode sheets.  Figure 3 illustrates a battery with two Tabs.

Tablets Battery

Tabs are the junctions where electrons flow between the external circuit and the battery electrodes. During charging, Lithium atoms embedded throughout the rolled-up Cathode sheet release electrons. Similarly, during cell discharge, Lithium atoms embedded throughout the Anode sheet in the Jelly Roll release electrons. In both cases, these electrons must travel to the respective Tabs, to enter the external circuit.

The challenge with large batteries is that a longer path for electrons generates more heat and voltage drop due to ohmic resistance. Battery designers have tried out multiple closely spaced tabs to mitigate this problem. However, these are difficult to fabricate and increase the risks of damage to electrodes during welding. Tesla found an ingenious solution for this, by doing away with the Tabs altogether! Instead, the 4680 battery has conductive strips that run all along the edges of the Anode and Cathode sheets, as represented in Figure 4.

This way one entire edge of the Anode and Cathode sheets can perform the same function as Tabs, dramatically reducing electrical resistance and heat generation.

electrical resistance and heat generation. 

New Chemistry

Tesla has announced that the 4680 battery will have new chemistry to significantly enhance performance and reduce costs. In the future, the Cathode will not use the proven recipe of Lithium Oxide with 80% Nickel 10% Cobalt, and 10% Manganese (called NMC-811). Instead, their 4680 batteries will have Cathodes with much higher Nickel content and lower Cobalt content. The targeted Cathode composition is NMC 955 which is 90% Nickel and 5% each of Manganese and Cobalt. Higher Nickel content improves energy density, though it introduces problems of electrode stability, which Tesla may have overcome. Reducing Cobalt content is necessary to reduce dependence on the Congo region, which supplies 70% of the world’s Cobalt. It will also lower Cathode costs.

Tesla’s improvements in Anode chemistry involve replacing Graphite substantially or completely with raw metallurgical Silicon. Since Silicon of the required grade is abundant in the Earth’s crust and relatively cheap, switching to Silicon will reduce the cost of Anodes. The problem with Silicon Anodes is their volume expansion when Lithium atoms enter the Anode during charge and discharge cycles. This eventually destroys the electrode. However, given their announcements, Tesla seems to have found a solution.

Overall, Tesla expects reduced battery costs and increased range due to these chemical innovations.

Thicker steel case

Tesla has used a  much thicker steel case for 4680 compared to its 2170 counterpart. This may be because these batteries will be installed in a structural battery pack and must endure higher mechanical loads. One can also view this as additional protection against impact damage.

Pros and Cons

While some of Tesla’s announcements may be marketing hype, the fact remains that by January 2022 they had already produced a million cells of the 4680 battery. In an earnings call last year after the first quarter results of 2023, they confirmed progress on building the Texas Giga factory that will manufacture second-generation 4680 cells. This makes them the clear leader of the field in the 4680 battery business.

Many top battery manufacturers are developing 4680 format battery designs, and some are going ahead with production scale investments. Thus, the 4680 battery is going to shake up the electric vehicle world shortly. What does this mean to the “average Joe” consumer? Based on what we know at this time, let us look at the pros and cons.

Pros

  • Tesla’s 4680 promises to deliver increased mileage and reduced costs per kWh due to increased energy density, better battery chemistry, and overall vehicle light-weighting due to its structural battery design.
  • The Tesla 4680 is expected to last at least a million miles, which is much more than the average user will drive in the car’s lifetime.
  • The battery design incorporates enhanced safety features such as better heat dissipation and reduced risk of manufacturing defects due to the Tabless design.
  • Tesla has already produced several million first-generation 4680 cells and gained valuable manufacturing and operating experience with this new battery. Their gigafactory in Texas will deliver improved versions of the 4680. The battery design is maturing, which reduces the risk of ownership or investment.

Cons

  • At present, the 4680 is intended only for the new Tesla Model Y priced at around $ 60,000. This may not be affordable for many.
  • The claims made regarding new battery chemistry have not been implemented in the first generation of 4680 batteries, which seem to be NMC 811 and Graphite. It may take time for Tesla’s high Nickel, high silicon 4680 cells to be launched in the market.
  • Competitors may come up with better 4680 battery designs as well as other options including Sodium ion or solid-state batteries.

Evolution of the Cylindrical Battery Cell

In Akira Yoshiro’s Nobel Lecture delivered in 2019, he traces the evolution of Lithium-ion battery technology. The 1990s saw the introduction of mobile phones, which became an excellent fit for the newly invented lightweight and energy-dense Lithium-ion batteries. Initial markets were entirely in the personal electronics segment, till in the year 2010, when they were introduced into the electric vehicle market. Figure 5, cited in his lecture, illustrates the growth of the Lithium-ion battery market since 2010.  You can see how dramatically electric vehicles are projected to dominate the market share by 2025.

Evolution of the Cylindrical Battery Cell

The first electric car to be launched commercially using Lithium-ion batteries was the Nissan Leaf. The first-generation model was in production from 2010 to 2017. It used flat laminated Lithium-ion cells. In battery terminology, this is the “Pouch format”. The latest Nissan Leaf continues to use Pouch-type batteries.

The three battery shapes currently used by electric car manufacturers are Pouch, Prismatic, and Cylindrical types In the year 2020, the market share of each battery type in the passenger vehicle category was Prismatic ~40%, Pouch ~35% and Cylindrical ~15%.

Tesla was the first to use the cylindrical Lithium-ion cell for their electric vehicles. They started with the relatively cheap, but proven Panasonic 18650 and then moved to the 2170 form factor. Now they are transitioning to the much larger 4680 cell. Other manufacturers like BMW and CATL were later adopters of cylindrical batteries. However, the market driver is Tesla and the evolution of cylindrical Lithium-ion batteries mirrors the evolution of Tesla. Figure 6 shows examples of the cylindrical batteries that are powering Tesla’s growth.

4680 Battery vs 18650 Battery

To consumers, what ultimately matters is the economics and convenience of ownership. Tesla is the world’s largest electric vehicle maker in the world, and their path to success has involved the use of cylindrical Lithium-ion batteries. So let us compare the three cylindrical cells powering Tesla cars, from a consumer’s perspective.

4680 Battery vs 18650 Battery

How does the youngest and largest Tesla battery compare with its oldest and smallest counterparts? To answer this, let us compare the 4680 and 18650 batteries :

Parameter 4680 18650 Remarks
Capacity (maximum) 25000 mAh 3500 mAh Due to higher mAH, the 4680 will last longer between recharges
Energy density (cell) 276 to 333 wh/kg 250 wh/kg 4680 can deliver more power.
Size 46 mm dia. x 80 mm ht. 18 mm dia. x 65 mm ht. Due to larger size, 4680 contains a bigger Jelly Roll and can store more energy
Steel case wall thickness 0.5-0.6 mm 0.22 to 0.28 mm 4680 has higher mechanical strength to withstand shock
Cycle life 1000-2000 1500-4000 4680 has lesser cycle life than 18650 but will require less frequent charging
Net weight (maximum) 355 gms 50 gms The 4680 is heavier and suited for bigger cars.

4680 Battery vs 2170 Battery

Since the 2170 battery is the immediate predecessor to the 4680 in Tesla’s evolutionary history, the comparison below should be of interest:

Parameter 4680 2170 Remarks
Capacity (maximum) 25000 mAh 5600 mAh Due to higher mAH, the 4680 will last longer between recharges
Energy density (cell) 276 to 333 wh/kg 276 to 300 wh/kg The difference is not much.
Size 46 mm dia. x 80 mm ht. 21 mm dia. x 70 mm ht. Due to its larger size, 4680 contains a bigger Jelly Roll and can store more energy
Steel case wall thickness 0.5-0.6 mm 0.22 to 0.34 mm 4680 has higher mechanical strength to withstand shock
Cycle life 1000-2000 1500 Similar cycle life
Net weight (maximum) 355 gms 70 gms The 4680 is heavier and suited for bigger cars.

Conclusion

The new 4680 battery launched by Tesla is indeed a game changer due to its enhanced power and range. The safety features are now better. The key factor is going to be the battery cost, which hinges upon successfully incorporating lower costs of Cathode and Anodes

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
WhatsApp
Scroll to Top